Vegetable Noodle Soup in Fish Stock

I like to make food that is inexpensive and tasty. Especially using only 1 or 2 pots and pans. I like to cook, but do not like spending 30 minutes to an hour cleaning up afterwards.

Last night I made a tasty pot of soup. Soup is great in the fall and winter since it warms me up when I eat it. It was pretty easy to make using mostly bits of frozen and canned veggies. It was enough for 2 adults and 2 kids.

1 Qt/liter of water. Yes I know they aren’t the same, but it’s a soup so it does not need to be precise.

1 can Mackerel in Tomato Sauce (8 oz/210 grams)

1 small can of sliced bamboo

1 pack of tofu chopped up

5 baby bok choy stalks washed

Whatever frozen, canned, or fresh veggies you feel like tossing in. I used mixed frozen veggies and corn since I had about 1/3 box of each in the freezer (4 ounces/100 grams of each).

Salt (I prefer sea salt)

Chinese noodles. About 1 big handful. (These noodles cook in about 3 minutes)

  1. Place the water and mackerel with sauce in a pot.
  2. Add tofu and bamboo when the water starts to simmer. (Chopped carrot and daikon could be added at this time since they take longer to cook)
  3. Put another pot of water on the stove for cooking noodles
  4. When the broth simmers again add the frozen vegetables
  5. Place Chinese style noodles into the pot of water when it boils and add salt to the soup
  6. At the same time add the washed leaves of baby bok choy to the simmering soup and stir them in.
  7. Soup is done when the noodles finish cooking.
  8. Place noodles and soup in a bowl and enjoy!!

Remember it is better to put in too little salt then too much while it is cooking. You can always add more salt when you are eating the soup, but it is impossible to remove salt from the soup once it is already included!!

Desert was home made banana bread with chocolate chips baked in a cast iron skillet. I forgot to take pictures of the food. Will do so when I make Taiwanese beef noodle soup this weekend.

Tags: ,

Leave a comment